BBC Studios, CBeebies UK and Studio AKA’s Hey Duggee, won three awards at the Children’s BAFTAs on Sunday, winning in the Pre-School Animation, Director and Digital categories.

This is the third pre-school animation BAFTA win for Hey Duggee. Hey Duggee’s creator and director Grant Orchard also picked up the Director award. The educational app, Hey Duggee: The Counting Badge, was awarded the Digital Award. The app was created by digital agency Scary Beasties, in association with BBC Studios and Studio AKA.

Henrietta Hurford Jones, Executive Producer of Hey Duggee for BBC Studios, said: “It’s incredible to have won three BAFTAs for Hey Duggee this year. Hey Duggee is a much-loved show which is enjoyed by children and parents across the world, and it’s fantastic to see that recognised by BAFTA. Grant is exceptionally talented, and it’s with his creativity and inspiration that Hey Duggee continues to be such a huge success.”

Sue Goffe, Head of Production at Studio AKA, said: “It’s wonderful to see Hey Duggee win three awards at the Children’s BAFTAs this year, and particularly for Grant to have been recognised in the Best Director category. We’re hugely proud of the work, and thank and congratulate everyone involved in making the show.”
Loved by girls, boys and parents too, Hey Duggee inspires children to have a go, work as a team and earn badges along the way.

Hey Duggee, a Studio AKA production with BBC Studios, is a six-time BAFTA and international Emmy award-winning hit on CBeebies, which consistently ranks as one of the top three programmes on the channel.

The show has an impressive global footprint in over 150 territories, has had over 50 million iPlayer requests in 2018 and is consistently a top performing show for CBeebies. Series three is currently in production and is expected to air on CBeebies in 2019.

BBC Studios dominated in the BAFTA nominations this year, with Sarah and Duck nominated for the Pre-School Animation and Young Performer awards. BBC Studios invests in several children’s shows, with The Next Step, Clangers, Horrible Histories and Swashbuckle all nominated for awards.